Tuesday, June 1, 2010

What the hey?!.....

Having a wee bit of trouble with the homeschool blog :( boo hoo! I mean really, come on! Soooo.....there is a possibility we will be just blogging on the gigi and amy adventures blog from now on. I'm such a "clutter bug" in most things in my life.....I need to "simplify" anyway....not going to delete this blog, but it might be dormant for awhile!

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Practically perfect penmanship!

Every day, Gracie enjoys practicing cursive in her cursive workbook. Opperative word here is "ENJOYS". Writing is something she must like....(I'm thankful)!
I advised G when we started that more than likely, down the road, the only thing she will write in cursive is her signature. I felt a bit sad saying this, for the hand-written word is becoming a thing of the past. We've attempted 2 times to start being penpals with other kiddos and the response has not been great. I'm guessing I need to get on a site for kiddo penpals....others seeking the same thing.....the joy of getting an envelope in the mail addressed to them! Not junk mail! An actual letter that someone took the time to write.......
The reason for G writing in RED PEN (erasable pen, btw) is because when she writes in the workbook in black, I really have a hard time telling which is which.
This, I feel, is a good problem.


Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Menchie's......you are toooooo sweet!

There is a fairly new area on the edge of Nashville that is starting to open some really wonderful establishments. One of them opened today....have you been to a Menchie's?
oh me. It's so delish. G got milk chocolate frozen yogurt with strawberries and milk chocolate chips. I got cake batter flavor fro yo and added some cheesecake bites. Then I got a wild hair (cause I roll that way) and tried MOCHI . YUM. It reminded me of a marshmellow flavor, very mild, with a bit of a gummy bear consistency. It's a Japanese confection made with rice.
Now I want to buy some Mochi.
Gee, thanks Menchie's........

On the drive to Menchie's (and a stop at Krogers to pick up meds as well as a return to Lowe's) G and I discussed the past year of homeschooling and talked about what we want to get out of 3rd grade which will start July 1st. We are going to the Nashville Home School curriculum fair in a couple of weeks and I FOR SURE feel better going into it this year. I have a better idea of what G is most receptive to and what holds her attention the best.
We will start out "summer break" when we leave for Disney with my family on May 21st. That gives G about 5 weeks off school totally.
This means we have less than a month left in 2nd grade. Year 1 will be under my belt. I'm thankful we started homeschooling in a grade that is a lot of review from the prior grade.
I really can't believe that we are almost finished. It has not all been a bed of roses, but we both feel like it's a good fit for us. I'm thanking God we are able to do this!



Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Spring Break fun

Today, a local eating establishment was being filmed for a future episode of Guy Fieri's Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives on the Foodnetwork.....
I am guessing it revolves around that spikey haired feller cause he didn't show until waaaayyyyy later than we had thought. Actually, we gave up and missed him. The girls got their Nanny to drive by again later and saw him thru the winder ;)



Tuesday, March 30, 2010

"Mama, can we........?"

".....Watch the Waltons when we are finished with school?!"
(although, she called them "The Wilsons" the first time)


"....print off the sign language alphabet ....I wanna learn it!"


".....get me an abacus? I like those things!"
I realize that my child is a little "different". I mean, she prefers fresh fruit to candy. She would rather HIDE the Easter Eggs for others instead of hunting them. She can hang out with a room full of women for 3 hours and paint pottery, all the while truly contributing to any and all conversations.........but I think this sort of different is cool. It isn't "pushed" upon her. She surely has her own sense of style, her own ideas, her own dreams. I don't know that I would call her "extra mature" or anything.....just different. That's cool with me. As long as she is being a good Christian example, as best she can, then I can't complain.....not.one.bit.




Tuesday, March 23, 2010

some of our top lessons learned while in NYC.....

that time spent with dear friends (this is G with Pastor Pete) in a different town is extra special memory making time.......
That GROM gelato in Greenwich Village is the most incredible sweet treat we've EVER had.....

That EVERYONE is wanting to make a buck (or two, or five) on each corner & they don't mind dressing up to do it...........


that riding the subway is a wonderful mode of transportation........

that you should NEVER get a pedicure right before going to a city where you do a ton of walking! Those rough spots on the feet are there to PROTECT and THICK (not those thin ones) SOCKS are a MUST!!!!!
It was wonderful, gnarly blisters and all......more photos (and learning experiences!) to come.....





Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Learning to Give.....

I wish I could say that I have taught our child to give to others......but I have to give God Almighty the credit....He is the one who gave her the EXTRA-giving heart! Please go to our other blog to see the story........she is a precious child. I know she will do many great things in her life....this is just the beginning........

Voting

Followers