
working on cursive writing......very frustrating for G....she wants to do it perfectly from the start!

Afternoon chapter book reading.....with her feet!
(this is AFTER school and for fun!)
I'm learning to relax a bit with the whole homeschool thing. Flexible is the word. We've pulled back a bit on the Science lessons & History/Geography lessons, for I didn't know until yesterday that her Science and world culture she will have in her enrichment program will count.....This is a great thing, for we can spend more time on reading, writing and math. I challenged G with a journal and a promise that for every chapter book she reads, I will pay her $2. She has to list them by title and author in the journal with the date started and finished.
Today I introduced cursive handwriting. G has been wanting to write in cursive for about a year or so, and now is the time. She is a bit frustrated, but we will get through it. She prints beautifully, so I have a feeling cursive will be somewhat "natural" for her too!
Here is a "typical" schedule for us (right now, anyway!):
8am: awaken, eat breakfast, make our beds, take our vitamins and do some sort of exercise.....
that might be Wii fit or just dancing around to some fun praise music for 15-20 minutes.
9am: say the pledge to the flag and Bible, and then a sweet prayer to get lessons started.
9:15am: Language Arts/English
10am: Math (I lesson planned this early in the day when our brains are fresh! ha ha! We actually LOVE Math so far.....it's cool....for BOTH of us!)
10:45am: a little break for a snack or just rest
11am: Health (so far, we have talked about families, differences in boys and girls, how to say no, etc. Very interesting and Christian based)
11:45am-12:15pm: lunch break
12:15pm-1pm: Bible (lapbooking....so this is Bible with CRAFTS! I love that I am reading the Bible EVERY day. This is something that I am sad to say I have not done very much in life)
1pm-2:30pm: We read chapter books, review anything we felt might need a little extra emphasis, clean up the studio, etc)
This is just a "rough" idea of what we do.....we rarely take a whole 30 minute break for lunch, and we sometimes spend extra time on some subjects/lessons. It's very rewarding. G seems to really enjoy it.....especially that she can be BAREFOOT and sit on the floor if she wants to :)