(this is AFTER school and for fun!)
I'm learning to relax a bit with the whole homeschool thing. Flexible is the word. We've pulled back a bit on the Science lessons & History/Geography lessons, for I didn't know until yesterday that her Science and world culture she will have in her enrichment program will count.....This is a great thing, for we can spend more time on reading, writing and math. I challenged G with a journal and a promise that for every chapter book she reads, I will pay her $2. She has to list them by title and author in the journal with the date started and finished.
Today I introduced cursive handwriting. G has been wanting to write in cursive for about a year or so, and now is the time. She is a bit frustrated, but we will get through it. She prints beautifully, so I have a feeling cursive will be somewhat "natural" for her too!
Here is a "typical" schedule for us (right now, anyway!):
8am: awaken, eat breakfast, make our beds, take our vitamins and do some sort of exercise.....
8am: awaken, eat breakfast, make our beds, take our vitamins and do some sort of exercise.....
that might be Wii fit or just dancing around to some fun praise music for 15-20 minutes.
9am: say the pledge to the flag and Bible, and then a sweet prayer to get lessons started.
9:15am: Language Arts/English
10am: Math (I lesson planned this early in the day when our brains are fresh! ha ha! We actually LOVE Math so far.....it's cool....for BOTH of us!)
10:45am: a little break for a snack or just rest
11am: Health (so far, we have talked about families, differences in boys and girls, how to say no, etc. Very interesting and Christian based)
11:45am-12:15pm: lunch break
12:15pm-1pm: Bible (lapbooking....so this is Bible with CRAFTS! I love that I am reading the Bible EVERY day. This is something that I am sad to say I have not done very much in life)
1pm-2:30pm: We read chapter books, review anything we felt might need a little extra emphasis, clean up the studio, etc)
This is just a "rough" idea of what we do.....we rarely take a whole 30 minute break for lunch, and we sometimes spend extra time on some subjects/lessons. It's very rewarding. G seems to really enjoy it.....especially that she can be BAREFOOT and sit on the floor if she wants to :)

No comments:
Post a Comment